South Carolina growers appointed to soybean board

U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Ed Schafer has announced 19 appointments and two alternate appointments to the United Soybean Board that includes two members from South Carolina.

Cecil B. Eaddy, a soybean grower for the past 34 years, from Manning has been re-appointed to his second three-year term. A 1974 graduate of the University of Georgia, he is the owner of Anglewood Angus Farm. He is also a member of Farm Bureau Soybean Feed Grain and Hay Committee and Clemson Extension Advisory Committee.

Henry V. Elliott, Jr., of Andrews was appointed as an alternate member. Elliott manages Elliott Farms LLC in Kingstree. He continues to serve on the South Carolina Soybean Board, and the South Carolina Farm Bureau Board of Directors where he has served for 20 years.

Soybeans are an important crop to our state, and having these two growers sitting at the national table allows them to bring forward issues important to South Carolina,” said Hugh Weathers, South Carolina Commissioner of Agriculture.

Eaddy and Elliott were nominated by the South Carolina Soybean Board. All appointees serve 3-year terms beginning December 2008.

The 68-member Board is authorized by the Soybean Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act.

The Secretary selected the appointees from soybean producers nominated by qualified state soybean boards. The board's goal is to strengthen the position of soybeans in the marketplace and to maintain and expand domestic and foreign markets and uses for soybeans and soybean products.

For more information about South Carolina’s soybean industry, call Aaron Wood, 803-734-1767.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.