Florida horticultural annual meeting a huge success

Over 220 scientists, growers, industry representatives and students attended the 118th Florida State Horticultural Society Annual Meeting in Tampa, Fla., which featured 119 scientific papers as well as topical seminars for ornamentals, fruit and vegetable production on current issues such as citrus canker, disease resistance, and Best Management Practices for vegetables.

Craig Campbell, out-going chairman of the board, passed the chairman’s gavel to last year’s president, George Hochmuth.

Jacqueline Burns from the UF/IFAS Citrus Research and Education Center was elected president for the 2005-2006 year.

Also elected into office was member-at-large Richard Tyson, and proceedings editor Edgardo Etxeberria was re-elected for a second term. They join the current slate of officers: treasurer Garvie Hall, secretary Jeffrey Brecht, program coordinator Steven Sargent, newsletter editor Anita Neal, student best paper award committee chair Elizabeth Lamb and member-at-large Chris Oswalt.

Many attendees commented that this was the most exciting meeting in years, with new programs and workshops and attendance up 20 percent over last year. Hochmuth added that new opportunities will be explored in the coming year, and he encourages all those interested to join or renew their membership. Regular membership is only $50 per year and includes a printed copy of the meeting proceedings and society newsletters and updates.

For more information on the society or to download a membership form, visit www.fshs.org or contact FSHS at 1-863-956-1151.

Awards for Best Paper, Best Student Paper and other honors were announced at the meeting.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.