Farm Bureau elects leaders

A host of grassroots leaders were elected at the 89th American Farm Bureau Federation (AFBF) annual meeting, held recently in New Orleans, La.

For a fifth time, Bob Stallman, Columbus, Texas, was elected president. Stallman, a cattle and rice producer, will serve the standard two-year term.

Complementing Stallman’s selection, Barry Bushue was elected AFBF vice-president. Bushue, from Boring, Ore., is a nursery and berry producer. He replaces Steve Appel, Dusty, Wash., the former AFBF vice-president. Appel, a wheat and barley producer, has retired.

Sixteen seats on the AFBF board of directors were voted on, resulting in the board welcoming two new additions. California Farm Bureau President Doug Mosebar and Oklahoma Farm Bureau President Mike Spradling were both voted in.

The AFBF board of directors maintained a number of incumbent positions, as 14 state Farm Bureau presidents were re-elected to continue representing their regions.

Southern — Marshall Coyle, Kentucky; John Hoblick, Florida; Jerry Newby, Alabama; Wayne Pryor, Virginia; Stanley Reed, Arkansas; David Waide, Mississippi; and David Winkles, South Carolina.

Midwest — Steve Baccus, Kansas; Charles Kruse, Missouri; Philip Nelson, Illinois; and Scott VanderWal, South Dakota.

Northeast — John Lincoln, New York; and Richard Nieuwenhuis, New Jersey.

Western — Leland Hogan, Utah.

The AFBF Women’s Leadership Committee will continue to be chaired by Terry Gilbert of Kentucky. Gilbert also serves on the AFBF board of directors. The Women’s Leadership Committee gained one new member — Isabella Chism of Indiana was voted in. Several members of the committee were re-elected: Margine Harris, New Mexico; Beth Pool, New Jersey; and Frances Price, South Carolina.

Townsend Kyser of Alabama was elected as chair of the AFBF Young Farmer and Rancher Committee. Kyser will also serve on the AFBF board of directors.

The 2009 AFBF annual meeting is scheduled for Jan. 11-14, in San Antonio, Texas.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.