Dunavant named CCI president

William B. Dunavant, III, a cotton merchant from Memphis, Tenn., was elected president of Cotton Council International (CCI), the overseas market promotion arm for the National Cotton Council, for 2002.

Dunavant succeeds Hans G. Kretschmer, an El Paso, Texas, cooperative official. Kretschmer becomes Cotton Council International's board chairman, succeeding J. Larry Nelson, a producer from Edmonson, Texas. The election took place during the Cotton Council's annual meeting in Dallas, Texas. Other CCI officers elected for 2002 are first vice president Robert A. Carson, Jr., producer, Marks, Miss.; second vice president David Stanford, cooperative official, Lubbock, Texas; and treasurer Gary W. Taylor, merchant, Cordova, Tenn. Gaylon B. Booker of Memphis was re-elected secretary and Allen A. Terhaar of Washington, D.C., assistant secretary.

CCI elected seven new directors for 2002: Gail Kring, a crusher from Lubbock, Texas; Sid Brough, a ginner from Edroy, Texas; J. Walker Clarke, a merchant from Columbia, S.C.; Eduardo L. Esteve, a merchant from Dallas; Rodger C. Glaspey, a merchant from Fresno, Calif.; Bob Mayberry, a producer from Lake Arthur, N.M.; and Ted D. Sheely, a producer from Lemoore, Calif.

Re-elected directors include: Michael M. Adams, cooperative official, Greenwood, Miss; Van A. May, cooperative official, Lubbock, Texas; Robert W. Norris, cooperative official, Bakersfield, Calif.; Robert W. Glassman, ginner, Fresno, Calif.; William C. Tharp, merchant, Las Cruces, N.M.; Adolph Weil, III, merchant, Montgomery, Ala.; G. Stephen Felker, manufacturer, Monroe, Ga.; Jerry D. Rowland, manufacturer, Winston-Salem, N.C.; James B. Hansen, producer, Corcoran, Calif.; Cliett A. Lowman, III, producer, Kingsville, Texas; Larry R. McClendon, producer, Marianna, Ark.; N. Wiley Murphy, producer, Tucson, Ariz.; John E. Pucheu, Jr., producer, Tranquility, Calif.; and Vance C. Shoaf, warehouseman, Milan, Tenn.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.