Veneman names advisory members

The Committee makes recommendations on the equitable assignment of tobacco inspectors to all designated markets, opening dates and selling schedules and provides information essential to the orderly marketing of flue-cured tobacco.

USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service provides oversight to the Flue-Cured Tobacco Advisory Committee in accordance with the Federal Advisory Committee Act. The two-year term ends April 15, 2005.

Newly appointed producers members, followed by alternates, are Damon B. Deas, Jennings, Fla., member and Kenneth D. Dasher, Live Oak, Fla., alternate; Gerald B. Balance, Fremont, N.C., member, and Jody E. Clemmons, Supply, N.C., alternate; Malcolm S. Whitford, Grantsboro, N.C., member, and Roy H. Byrd Jr., Bunnlevel, N.C., alternate; Harry D. Canady, Lumberton, N.C., member, and John L. Tart, Goldsboro, N.C., alternate.

Newly appointed buyer members and alternates are Thomas T. Anderson, Danville, Va., member, and Charles W. Wilson, Warrenton, N.C., alternate; Marvin L. Gordon, Richmond, Va., member; and James Buchan, Richmond, Va., alternate; Amanda S. Hasty, Wilson, N.C., member and Robert B. Fulford, Farmville, N.C., alternate; Lonnie W. Crawford, Winterville, N.C., member, and Gerald F. Lawrence, Angier, N.C., alternate; William K. Brewer, Rocky Mount, N.C., member, and George H. Scott, Wilson, N.C., alternate.

Newly appointed auction warehouse member and alternate is Paul K. Phillips, Kenansville, N.C., member, and Lawrence S. McDougald, Clarkton, N.C.

The newly appointed marketing center member followed by the alternate is Bruce Flye, Battleboro, N.C., member, and Keith R. Beavers, Mt. Olive, N.C., alternate.

Reappointed producer members, followed by alternates are Gary L. Walker, TyTy, Ga., member, and Fred M. Wetherington, Valdosta, Ga., alternate; James D. Bass, Rougemont, N.C., member, and William S. Harding, Chocowinity, N.C., alternate; H. Allen Wooten, Burgaw, N.C., member, and Trudy B. Early, Gibsonville, N.C., alternate; Gale S. Lewis, Shannon, N.C., member, and Wilbur C. Lovette, Lumberton, N.C., alternate; Raleigh O. Ward, Effingham, S.C., member, and Marcus E. Gerald, Loris, S.C., alternate; Lonzo Israel, Nichols, S.C., member, and Danny K. Hammonds, Nichols, S.C., alternate; Larry Sampson, Rowland, N.C., member, and David J. Hinnant, Kenly, N.C., alternate; Donnie L. Anderson, South Boston, Va., member, and Lucy A. Conner, Nathalie, Va., alternate.

Reappointed buyer members and alternates are Horace R. Kornegay, Jr., Winston-Salem, N.C., member, and Robert D. McElveen, Winston-Salem, N.C., alternate; Roman E. Justice, Jr., Pink Hill, N.C., member, and Douglas E. Knott, Fuquay-Varina, N.C., alternate.

e-mail:[email protected]

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.