Schafer announces soybean board appointments

Secretary of Agriculture Ed Schafer has announced 19 appointments and 2 alternate appointments to the United Soybean Board (Board). All appointees will serve 3-year terms beginning December 2008.

Appointed members representing soybean producers by state and unit are: James D. Wilson, Alabama; H. Todd Allen, Arkansas; Dwain L. Ford, Illinois; Michael A. Beard, Indiana; James L. Stillman, Iowa; Roy P. Bardole, Iowa; John W. Wray, Kansas; George H. Martin, Kentucky; Eugene L. Lowe, III, Maryland; R. Alan Moore, Michigan; Scott G. Singlestad, Minnesota; James D. Sneed, Mississippi; Jason S. Bean, Missouri; Mike G. Korth, Nebraska; Daniel J. Corcoran, Ohio; Cecil B. Eaddy, South Carolina; Robert J. Metz, South Dakota; Gerald G. Caldwell, Tennessee; and Thomas Rotello, Sr., Texas.

Michael A. Dee, Alabama; and Henry V. Elliott, Jr., South Carolina were appointed as alternate members.

The 68-member Board is authorized by the Soybean Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act. The Secretary selected the appointees from soybean producers nominated by Qualified State Soybean Boards.

The mandatory program is funded at the rate of one-half of one percent of the net market price of the soybeans purchased. The Board's goal is to strengthen the position of soybeans in the marketplace and to maintain and expand domestic and foreign markets and uses for soybeans and soybean products.

USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service monitors operation of the Board.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.