Schafer announces beef board appointments

Agriculture Secretary Ed Schafer has announced 32 appointments to the Cattlemen's Beef Promotion and Research Board. All appointees will serve 3-year terms beginning Jan. 31, 2009.

Newly appointed members representing cattle producers are: Ted A. Greidanus, Calif.; Phyllis Snyder, Colo.; Kimberly B. Brackett, Idaho; Roland W. May, Kan.; Daniel C. Smith, Ky.; Jay O. Stovall, Mont.; Chris L. Schluntz, Neb.; Wesley L. Grau, N.M.; Joyce A. Bupp, Pa.; Michael V. Stahly, S.D.; G. Hughes, Abell, Texas and F. Henry Maxey, Jr., Va.

Reappointed members representing cattle producers are: Thomas S. Jones, Ark.; Roger L. West, Fla.; Terrell D. Handke, Kan.; Daniel J. Kerschen, Kan.; Charles J. Bassett, Mo.; James J. Eschliman, Neb.; Lyndell W. Whipps, Sr., Neb.; Margie B. Hande, N.D.; Joe B. Drake, Okla.; Andrea D. Hutchison, Okla.; Daryl R. Berlier-Owen, Texas; Robert L. Bruner, Texas; Daniel B. Dierschke, Texas; and Bryant W. Fisher, Texas.

Newly appointed members representing importers are: Dorith Marom, Conn.; Stephen A. Orodenker, N.J. and Kelvin W. Whall, Va.

Reappointed members representing importers are: Ronald G. Allen, Pa.; Michelle A. Gorman, Md. and John J. O'Carroll, Kan.

The board oversees collection of $1 per head on all cattle sold in the United States and $1 per head equivalent on imported cattle, beef and beef products. In addition, the board contracts with established national, non-profit, industry-governed organizations to implement programs of promotion, research, consumer information, industry information, foreign marketing and producer communications.

The 106-member board is authorized by the Beef Promotion and Research Act of 1985. The Secretary of Agriculture selects the appointees nominated by beef, veal, dairy and importers certified organizations. USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service monitors operation of the board.

TAGS: Legislative
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.