Georgia Farm Bureau annual meeting Jekyll Island 2013

Georgia Farm Bureau sets annual meeting for Dec. 8-10

• Georgia Farm Bureau members will meet for a full schedule of activities on Dec. 8-10 at the Jekyll Island Convention Center.

The 2013 Georgia Farm Bureau convention is scheduled for Dec. 8-10 on Jekyll Island for the 50th time.

Convention activities begin on Dec. 8 at the Jekyll Island Convention Center with registration at 11 a.m., followed by the opening of the trade show at noon, featuring booths from many of Georgia's agricultural organizations and agencies.

The Georgia Department of Agriculture and GFB are hosting a drop-in reception from noon until 4:30 p.m. showcasing Georgia-grown commodities and GFB's Certified Farm Markets.

The 2013 Young Farmer Discussion Meet final round begins at 1 p.m.

Finalists are Kyle Dekle of Habersham County, Trisha Lastly of Madison County, Ali Merk of Jackson County and Constance Reid of Greene County. 

A reception to celebrate agricultural literacy sponsored by the GFB Women's Leadership Committee will be held at 2:30 p.m. The Georgia Excellence in Educating About Agriculture Award will be presented and county Farm Bureaus will be honored for ag promotion and education efforts in the past year.

An open session of policy development (PD) will be held at 3:15 p.m. followed by a closed session for PD committee members only.

The annual memorial service honoring deceased county presidents begins at 4:30 p.m., followed by an inspirational message and the state awards program.

On Dec. 9, convention activities start with complimentary biscuits to be served at 7:30 a.m. The general session opens at 8:30 a.m., featuring GFB President Zippy Duvall's annual address.

Georgia Agriculture Commissioner Gary Black is scheduled to speak, as are Kristi Boswell and Bob Young of the American Farm Bureau Federation.

Prize drawings for the Young Farmer Committee raffle will be held during a break.

The county presidents/secretaries luncheon will be held at noon, during which county Farm Bureaus will be honored for outstanding membership programs.

The GFB Commodity Advisory Committee meetings begin at 2 p.m., with speakers addressing commodity-specific issues.

Winners of the GFB Quality Hay Contest will be announced during the GFB Hay Committee meeting at 3:30 p.m.

The annual membership breakfast is set for 6:45 a.m. on Dec. 10.

The annual business session begins at 8:15 a.m. Gov. Nathan Deal is scheduled to speak to the GFB voting delegates at about 9:15 a.m. prior to policy discussion and action. 

District caucuses will convene for election of district directors at 10:15 a.m. The only contested elections are in Districts 1 and 2. District 1 candidates are incumbent Wesley Hall of Forsyth County and Bill Bryan of Chattooga County. District 2 candidates are incumbent Bobby Gunter of Lumpkin County and Swayne Cochran of Jackson County.

For additional information, visit

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.