North Carolina soybean growers present service awards

The North Carolina Soybean Producers Association presented annual Meritorious Service Awards at the groups annual meeting to Steve Koenning of North Carolina State University and to James Fletcher of Elizabeth City.

Koenning was recognized for outstanding service to the state’s soybean producers through his research and Extension projects.

Fletcher is the past president of the soybean producers association and the North Carolina delegate to the board of the American Soybean Association.

Also at the group’s 40th annual meeting held in New Bern, John Fleming of Scotland Neck was recognized as the North Carolina Young Leader for 2007. The annual Young Leader program is sponsored by the American Soybean Association and Pioneer Hi-Bred International, a DuPont Company.

The program identifies and provides leadership training to individuals who have shown exemplary farming skills and leadership potential.

Fleming will be the guest of the American Soybean Association and DuPont at a leadership training seminar at the Commodity Classic in Tampa in March 2007.

The North Carolina Soybean Producers Association is a Raleigh-based soybean trade association responsible for research, education and promotion programs to benefit the state’s soybean farmers. The association is the Qualified State Soybean Board to administer the federal soybean checkoff program in North Carolina.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.