North Carolina agribusiness advisory group to meet

The Commissioner’s Circle, a group set up by North Carolina Agriculture Commissioner Steve Troxler to advise him on agribusiness matters, will hold its first meeting from 11 a.m.-1 p.m. Wednesday, June 14, in the Exposition Center of the State Fairgrounds.

The meeting is open to the public.

The agenda will include presentations about the Emergency Programs and Agronomic divisions of the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, plus time for general discussion about agricultural issues.

“The Commissioner’s Circle is a group of individuals from across North Carolina who are consistently recognized for their leadership in and service to the agribusiness community of our state,” Troxler said.

“This is not a policy-making group, but an advisory group from whom I intend to solicit opinions, feedback and input. Members will have the opportunity to share their thoughts on matters that affect the agricultural sector of our economy.

“This group also will serve as a voice for our department, sharing information about our programs and services with people back in the members’ communities,” he said.

Troxler has appointed 26 people to the circle, which eventually will have 30 members. They are from various regions of North Carolina and represent farming, processing, the retail grocery business and other aspects of agribusiness. Members are volunteering their time and will receive no compensation or expense reimbursement.

Members are as follows:

Jerry D. Apple of Browns Summit; Tom R. Austin Sr. and Lee W. Hodges Jr. of Ruffin; Marion Bagwell and Thomas R. Neese III of Greensboro; W. Kenny Barnwell of Edneyville; James Russell Boyd of Washington; P. Andy Brinkley of Wallburg; Ira Cline of Conover; Billy D. Guthrie of Newport; Dan A. Hunsucker of Conover; Billy D. Jones and Sam G. Lang of Raleigh; C. Benny Lee of Sanford; Jeffrey C. Lee of Benson; W. Carroll McLawhorn and Rick Smith of Greenville; Randall G. Patterson of China Grove; Betty Reeves of Leicester; Richard P. Renegar of Harmony; David L. Rose of Nashville; Tom E. Smith of Salisbury; Robert C. Smothers of Reidsville; E. Jerome Vick of Wilson; N. John Vollmer of Bunn; and Faylene Whitaker of Climax.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.