USB calls for awards nominations

The United Soybean Board (USB) and soybean checkoff are currently seeking nominations for USB’s annual Outstanding Achievement Award and Excellence Award.

The USB Outstanding Achievement Award is the highest award bestowed by USB. The soybean checkoff honors an individual, organization or group that has made an outstanding positive impact on the soybean industry and the soybean checkoff.

The USB Excellence Award recognizes outstanding achievement and rotates among the five USB program areas: Communications, domestic marketing, international marketing, new uses and production research. One excellence award recipient is recognized annually. This year, USB will present an award for excellence in domestic marketing.

Last year, scientist Bhima Vijayendran, a researcher of soy-based industrial products at the Battelle Memorial Institute, won the USB Outstanding Achievement Award. Vijayendran’s research has led to the commercialization of three soy-based products: soy toner, soy powder coatings and soy plasticizer for PVC, a substance added to plastic to keep it soft and pliable.

USB’s Excellence Award last year acknowledged achievements in communications, recognizing the Minnesota Soybean Research and Promotion Council for beginning its See for Yourself program. USB adopted a similar program at the national level.

“The soybean checkoff is proud to recognize these remarkable achievements,” says Vanessa Kummer, chair of USB’s communications program and a soybean farmer from Colfax, N.D. “The award winners undeniably have made a lasting impact on the soybean industry. The products Dr. Vijayendran has developed have the potential to utilize millions of bushels of soybeans each year. And the Minnesota See for Yourself program has given dozens of soybean farmers an up-close look at their soybean checkoff dollars at work.”

Please nominate individuals or organizations you deem worthy of recognition. With your help, USB can acknowledge those who have truly exceeded expectations this past year. Awards will be presented at the 2010 Commodity Classic in Anaheim, Calif. Nominations are due by Nov. 30.

For additional information click here.

TAGS: Management
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.