Kentucky’s Oatts takes ASA honor

The American Soybean Association (ASA), along with sponsors Monsanto and Corn & Soybean Digest, are delighted to announce the three regional winners of the 2010 Conservation Legacy Awards program: Northeast Region, H. Grant Troop, Troop Farms, Oxford, Pa.; South Region, Malcolm Oatts, Four Mile Farm, Hopkinsville, Ky.; Midwest Region, Josh Lloyd, Lloyd Farms, Inc., Clay Center, Kan.

The Conservation Legacy Awards Program is a national program designed to recognize the outstanding environmental and conservation achievements of U.S. soybean producers who distinguish themselves by taking care of the environment while still reaping economic returns from their farms.

This year’s Selection Committee included representatives from Monsanto, Corn & Soybean Digest, National Association of Conservation Districts, Soil & Water Conservation Society, then-ASA Conservation Task Force Chairman Danny Murphy, and two of the 2009 regional winners.

"Our hats are off to all the farmers who applied for this award," said ASA President Rob Joslin. "They truly understand what it means to care for the land and safeguard it for future generations. Congratulations to the three regional winners."

The three regional winners and a spouse/guest will receive an expense-paid trip to Commodity Classic in Anaheim, Calif. in March 2010, be featured in an upcoming issue of Corn & Soybean Digest and will be recognized at the ASA Awards Banquet at Commodity Classic.

TAGS: Management
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.