Forage Council names directors at annual meeting

The American Forage and Grassland Council (AFGC) seated its Board of Directors when the group met for its Annual Conferencein Grand Rapids, Michigan. The event was held at the Amway Grand Plaza Hotel and attracted approximately 250 attendees.

Miles Kuhn, FFR Cooperative, Lafayette, Ind., was elected president. AFGC's president-elect is Bob Hendershot, USDA-NRCS, Lancaster, Ohio. Howard Straub, Triple-H Farms, St. Johns, Mich., was named senior vice-president. Ray Smith, University of Kentucky, Lexington, Ky., became secretary/treasurer. Bill Tucker, Tucker Family Farms, Amherst, Va., became immediate past president.

Board members elected to their first three-year terms include: Brad Keith, Agri-King Nutrition, Inc., (dealer) Fulton, Ill., representing producers; Jeff Medlin, Ampac Seed Co., Mt. Juliet, Tenn.; and Byron Sleugh, Dow AgroSciences, West Des Moines, Iowa, representing industry; and, Ray Smith, University of Kentucky, representing the public sector.

Two board members were elected to their second three-year terms. Terri Hawbaker, Grazeway Dairy, Pewamo, Mic., was elected to represent the producer sector; John Andrae, Clemson University, Clemson, S.C., was elected to represent the public sector.

Additional AFGC Board members include: Ed Rayburn, West Virginia University, Morgantown, W.V.; Coy Fitch, Jeanerette, La.; Joel Reagan, Pennington Seed, Inc., Romance, Ark.; Ron Atherton, Agri-King/Analab, Fulton, Ill.; Chris Teutsch, Virginia Tech, Blackstone, Va.; Chad Hale, Western Forage Resources, Lebanon, Ore.; Chris Agee, Pennington Seed, Madison, Ga.; Jana Malot, Uncle Clem's Place, Harrisonville, Pa.; Gary Wilson, Ohio State University — Extension Program, Findlay, Ohio; V. Mac Baldwin, Baldwin Family Farms, YanceyVille, N.C.; John Jennings, University of Arkansas Extension, Little Rock, Ark.; and Roger Staff, USDA/NRCS, Greenville, Ill. Roger Staff also serves on the Board of Directors as the Affiliate Council President for a one-year term.

AFGC's 2010 Annual Conference will be held in conjunction with the Missouri Forage and Grassland Council, June 20-22 at the University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, Springfield, Mo. For information, contact AFGC at 800-944-2342, via e-mail at [email protected], or on the Web at

TAGS: Livestock
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.