Georgia counties eligible for drought assistance

Sixty-nine Georgia counties are eligible for low-interest emergency loans for drought losses incurred since January 2001, under the disaster designation declared by Agriculture Secretary Ann Veneman.

The 19 counties designated as primary disaster areas due to production losses are: Banks, Butt, Candler, Clayton, Elbert, Emanuel, Fayette, Glascock, Henry, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Laurens, Madison, Oglethorpe, Tattnall, Taylor, Washington and Wilkinson.

Farm operators in primary and contiguous counties are eligible to be considered for low-interest emergency loans from the FSA, provided they meet certain eligibility requirements. Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.