Florida counties get USDA disaster declaration

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated 11 counties in Florida as primary natural disaster areas due to losses caused by excessive rainfall that occurred from Nov. 11, through Dec. 23, 2009.

The 11 counties are:

Bay, Gulf, Liberty, Walton, Calhoun, Holmes, Okaloosa, Washington, Escambia, Jackson, and Santa Rosa.

Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in Florida also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous:

Franklin, Gadsden, Leonand, and Wakulla.

Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in Alabama and Georgia also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous:

• Alabama: Baldwin, Covington, Escambia, Geneva, and Houston.

• Georgia: Decatur and Seminole.

All counties listed above were designated natural disaster areas April, 15, 2010, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met.

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

USDA also has made other programs available to assist farmers and ranchers, including the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Program (SURE), which was approved as part of the Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008; the Emergency Conservation Program; Federal Crop Insurance; and the Non-insured Crop Disaster Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA Service Centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at http://disaster.fsa.usda.gov.

TAGS: Legislative
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.