Dawson wins peanut commission seat

The Georgia Peanut Commission announces that Rodney Dawson, Hawkinsville, Ga., is the new District Four board member for a three-year term. Dawson defeated Mike Lucas, Cochran, Ga., 340 votes to 86 votes after a 30-day balloting period, which ended April 15.

Dawson succeeds Billy Griggs, Unadilla, Ga., who did not seek re-election to the position.

Dawson farms 1,200 acres of peanuts with his brother in Pulaski County and has derived a large percentage of his income from peanuts for the past 30 years. He also produces cotton, corn and soybeans.

He serves on the board of directors of the Pulaski County Farm Bureau.

The Certified Public Accounting Firm of Allen, Pritchett and Bassett received a total of 426 valid ballots from District Four. The ballots were counted on April 18. “A total of 969 ballots were mailed to farmers in the district, so this represents a response rate of 43.9 percent,” says an accountant with Allen, Pritchett and Bassett.

Dawson began serving his three-year term at the May board meeting of the Georgia Peanut Commission. District Four represents the counties of Bleckley, Crisp, Dodge, Dooly, Houston, Laurens, Pulaski, Telfair, Twiggs, Wheeler, Wilcox and Wilkinson.

The Georgia Peanut Commission represents all peanut growers in the state of Georgia and carries out programs in the areas of research, education and promotion.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.