Burley advisory committee named

The Committee makes recommendations on the equitable assignment of tobacco inspectors to all designated markets, opening dates and selling schedules, and provides information essential to the orderly marketing of burley tobacco. USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service provides oversight to the Burley Tobacco Advisory Committee in accordance with the Federal Advisory Committee Act. The two-year terms end April 15, 2005.

Newly appointed producer members and alternates are Johnny B. Bullock, Somerset, Ky., member, and Dale Madden, Tyner, Ky., alternate; Charles L. Noe, Summersville, Ky., member, and John R. Fritz, Jr., Lexington, Ky., alternate; Cheryl H. Elliott, Cedar Hill, Tenn., member, and Dean D. Bates, Gallatin, Tenn., alternate.

Russell A. Thompson, Versailles, Ky., member, and Brian Furnish, Cynthiana, Ky., alternate; Joseph H. Spalding, Lebanon, Ky., member, and Edward W. Warren, Richmond, Ky., alternate; Daniel C. Green, Winchester, Ky., member, Danny McKinney, Brodhead, Ky., alternate.

Guy J. Heitkemper, Elizabeth, Ind., member, and Richard L. Fellows, Nabb, Ind., alternate; Mary Ann McCormack, Flemingsburg, Ky., member, and David A. Chappell, Owenton, Ky., alternate; Donald D. Smither, Liberty, Ky., member, and Caleb W. McGowan, Grace, Ky., alternate.

Orville J. Whitaker, Crab Orchard, Ky., member, and Todd A. Clark, Lexington, Ky., alternate; Mark S. Price, DeKalb, Mo., member, and James L. Baber, Weston, Mo., alternate; Donald R. Smart, Clyde, N.C., member, and Charles L. Deal, Franklin, N.C., alternate; Howard J. Foster, Gallipolis, Ohio, member, and Charles A. Duncan, Patriot, Ohio, alternate.

Willard Brown, Cookeville, Tenn., member, and Lowell W. Brown, Chuckey, Tenn., alternate; Roger D. Cavin, Rose Hill, Va., member, and Kenneth O. Reynolds, Abingdon, Va., alternate.

Newly appointed buyer members and alternates are Ronald A. Wright, Lucama, N.C., member, and Mandy S. Hasty, Wilson, N.C., alternate; Merion E. Haskins, Richmond, Va., member and Roger J. Eggleston, Midlothian, Va., alternate; David L. Conner, Advance, N.C., member, and Donald T. Edwards, Louisburg, N.C., alternate; Barnard L. Atkins, Mt. Airy, N.C., member, and William B. Albritton, Wray, Ga., alternate; Clayton G. Frazier of Henderson, N.C., member, and Thomas A. Norvell, Danville, Ky., alternate; James I. Hollingsworth, Russellville, Ky., member, and George M. Leer, Paris, Ky., alternate.

Newly appointed receiving station/auction warehouse members and alternates are Jerry T. Rankin, Danville, Ky., member and Frazer D. LeBus, Cynthiana, Ky., alternate; Robert B. Brannen, Statesboro, Ga., member, and James B. Brown, Olmstead, Ky., alternate; Bobby W. Ashby, Shelbyville, Ky., member, and Luther O. Harris, Carrollton, Ky., alternate.

Charles R. Barger, Parrotsville, Tenn., member, and Billy H. Venable, Tazewell, Tenn., alternate; Frank M. Flynn, Gallatin, Tenn., member, and Billy F. Celsor, Hartsville, Tenn., alternate; Jesse R. Faulkner II, Southern Pines, N.C., member, and Thomas S. Bundy, Lebanon, Va., alternate; Thomas M. Bale, Cave City, Ky., member, and Dewey R. Gaskins, Vanceboro, N.C., alternate.

Willa H. Poynter, Maysville, Ky., member, and Ava L. Bennett, Gray, Tenn., alternate; David W. Bryan, Sweetwater, Tenn., member, and William O. Newell, Somerset, Ky., alternate.

Reappointed producer members and alternates are Patrick E. Raines, Seaman, Ohio, member, and Paul L. Tucker, Sadieville, Ky., alternate; Catherine E. Pleasants, Stanford, Ky., member, and Jan. L. Bullock, Somerset, Ky., alternate; Edward M. Trunnell, Utica, Ky., member, and James C. Settles, Owensboro, Ky., alternate; David Mitchell, Blaine, Tenn., member, and Pallas H. Neal, Lebanon, Tenn., alternate; Robert E. Gritt, Buffalo, W.Va., member, and Joseph H. Carpenter, Hurricane, W. Va., alternate.

Reappointed buyer members and alternates are Donald T. Smith, Cave City, Ky., member, and Bunnie F. Finch, Durham, N.C., alternate; Belinda A. Stabler, Winston-Salem, N.C., member, and James T. Jolliff, Winston-Salem, N.C., alternate.

Reappointed receiving station/auction warehouse member and alternate: William B. Crain, Versailles, Ky., member, and Scott Robertson, Lexington, Ky., alternate.

>a href="mailto:[email protected]">e-mail: [email protected]

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.