ASA announces 2007/08 officers, assignments

The Board of Directors of the American Soybean Association (ASA) has confirmed John Hoffman from Waterloo, Iowa, as president, and Richard Ostlie from Northwood, N.D., as chairman.

Board members also elected Johnny Dodson from Halls, Tenn., to serve as first vice-president, an office that places Dodson in line to be ASA president next year.

Also elected were Bob Rikli from Murdock, Neb., as secretary, and Steve Wellman from Syracuse, Neb., as treasurer. Four vice-presidents also were elected: Alan Kemper from Lafayette, Ind.; Rob Joslin from Sidney, Ohio; Randy Mann from Auburn, Ky.; and Ron Kindred from Atlanta, Ill. These soybean producer-leaders form the nine-member ASA Executive Committee.

Elections were held during ASA’s summer Board of Director’s meeting in Washington, D.C.

"My primary focus is first and foremost the new farm bill," said ASA President John Hoffman. "We have been working with Congress to improve the safety net for soybeans. Close behind that is funding of a biodiesel incentive program, and authorization of a healthy oils incentive to help commercialize new specialty soybeans with improved compositional traits."

"As chairman of the Public Affairs Committee, I will work to advance ASA’s full agenda of legislative priorities," said new First-Vice President Johnny Dodson. "The writing of the new farm bill, extension of the biodiesel tax incentive, and establishment of a biodiesel fuel standard, are only a few of the many opportunities ahead of us."

Following the elections, committee assignments were announced. Public Affairs Committee Chairman Johnny Dodson is joined by committee members Dan Beenken (Iowa), Neal Bredehoeft (Mo.), Charles Cannatella (La.), Ted Glaub (Ark.), Ed Hegland (Minn.), Alan Kemper (Ind.), Ron Kindred (Ill.), Joe Layton (Mid-Atlantic), Rick Ostlie, Robert Ross (Okla.), Curt Sindergard (Iowa), Jack Trumbo (Ky.), Mark Watkins (Ohio), Steve Wellman (Neb.) and Greg Devries (Canada).

The Membership Services & Corporate Relations committee Chairman is Rob Joslin, with committee members James Andrew (Iowa), Mike Cunningham (Ill.), Mark Detweiler (Ga./Fla.), M.D. Floyd (S.C.), Kelly Forck (Mo.), Kevin Hoyer (Wisc.), Mark Jackson (Iowa), Joseph Mills (Ala.), Mike Skinner (Texas), Bob Worth (Minn.), Andy Weldon (Mich.), and Wyatt Whitford (N.C.).

Randy Mann was appointed chairman of the Trade Policy & International Affairs Committee. Committee members are Dennis Bogaards (Iowa), Scott Fritz (Ind.), Ray Gaesser (Iowa), Tim Goodenough (Wisc.), Bob Henry (Kan.), Dennis Jaeger (S.D.), Gary Joachim (Minn.), Bob Metz (S.D.), Danny Murphy (Miss.), Ron Moore (Ill.), Barb Overlie (Minn.), Bob Rikli (Neb.), Charles Skalsky (Va.), and Joe Steiner (Ohio).

Steve Wellman was appointed Chairman of the Finance Committee, with Ray Gaesser (Iowa), Ted Glaub (Ark.), Bob Henry (Kan.), Alan Kemper (Ind.) and Joe Layton (Mid-Atlantic), serving as committee members.

The Board welcomed 10 new members who are Mike Cunningham (Ill.), Ron Moore (Ill.), Ray Gaesser (Iowa), Mark Jackson (Iowa), Wyatt Whitford (N.C.), Mike Skinner (Texas), Tim Goodenough (Wisc), Kevin Hoyer (Wisc.), Bob Worth (Minn.), and Greg Devries (Canada).

ASA also recognizes retiring directors Dwain Ford (Ill.), Randy DeSutter (Ill.), Corwin Fee (Iowa), Glenn Janssen (Iowa), James Fletcher (N.C.), Carl Weets (Texas), Lorraine Birschbach (Wisc), Brad Mathson (Wisc), Kristen Weeks-Duncanson (Minn.) and Bill Allison, Canada.

ASA is a national, not-for-profit, grassroots membership organization that develops and implements policies to increase the profitability of its members and the entire soybean industry.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.