ASA announces 2006-07 officers, committee assignments

The Board of Directors of the American Soybean Association (ASA) has confirmed Richard Ostlie from Northwood, N.C., as president, and Bob Metz from West Browns Valley, S.D., as chairman.

Board members also elected John Hoffman from Waterloo, Iowa, to serve as first-vice president, an office that places Hoffman in line to be ASA President next year.

Also elected were Bob Rikli from Murdock, Neb., as secretary, and Gary Joachim from Claremont, Minn., as treasurer. Four vice-presidents also were elected: Johnny Dodson from Dyersburg, Tenn., Alan Kemper from Lafayette, Ind., Ted Glaub from Jonesboro, Ark., and Rob Joslin from Sidney, Ohio. These soybean producer-leaders form the nine-member ASA Executive Committee. Elections were held during ASA’s summer Board of Director’s meeting in Washington, D.C.

"I will make sure that ASA is prepared and strongly represented at the negotiating table to protect the future of our soybean producers," said ASA President Rick Ostlie. "ASA has a long and proud history of strong leadership that has brought us to where we are today. My goal is to follow that tradition by listening to the needs of all soybean producers and to use that guidance to focus my leadership. I believe it is essential for a strong leader to first listen to the needs of the people you represent."

New First Vice-President John Hoffman said, "As Chairman of ASA’s Public Affairs Committee, I am looking ahead to extending the biodiesel tax incentive, and development of farm bill proposals that enhance U.S. soybean farmer profitability and are compliant with WTO requirements for global trade. As we prepare for this work, I intend to work closely with state associations and the Voting Delegates at Commodity Classic to ensure that ASA’s policies are guided and supported by our grassroots membership."

Following the elections, committee assignments were announced. Public Affairs Committee Chairman John Hoffman is joined by committee members are Dan Beenken (Iowa), Neal Bredehoeft (Missouri), Randy DeSutter (Illinois), Johnny Dodson (Tennessee), James Fletcher (North Carolina), John Freeman (Arkansas), Ed Hegland (Minnesota), Alan Kemper (Indiana), Joe Layton (Mid-Atlantic), Bob Metz (South Dakota), Joseph Mills (Alabama), Danny Murphy (Mississippi), Robert Ross (Oklahoma), Curt Sindergard (Iowa), Joe Steiner (Ohio), Kristin Weeks-Duncanson (Minnsota), Steve Wellman (Nebraska) and Bill Allison (Canada).

Bob Rikli was appointed chairman of the Trade Policy & International Affairs Committee. Committee members are Lorraine Birschbach (Wisconsin), Scott Fritz (Indiana), Dwain Ford (Illinois), Dennis Jaeger (South Dakota), Glenn Janssen (Iowa), Gary Joachim (Minnesota), Ron Kindred (Illinois), Randy Mann (Kentucky), Brad Mathson (Wisconsin), Charles Skalsky (Virginia), Jack Trumbo (Kentucky), and Andy Welden (Minnesota).

The Membership Services & Corporate Relations committee Chairman is Rob Joslin, with committee members James Andrew (Iowa), Dennis Bogaards (Iowa), Charles Cannatella (Louisiana), Mark Detweiler (Georgia/Florida) Corwin Fee (Iowa), M.D. Floyd (South Carolina), Kelly Forck (Missouri), Ted Glaub (Arkansas), Bob Henry (Kansas), Barb Overlie (Minnesota), Mark Watkins (Ohio), and Carl Weets (Texas).

Gary Joachim was appointed chairman of the Finance Committee, with M.D. Floyd (South Carolina), Ted Glaub (Arkansas), Rob Joslin (Ohio), Alan Kemper (Indiana), Joe Layton (Mid-Atlantic), and Steve Wellman (Nebraska) serving as committee members.

The Board welcomed five new members who are James Andrew (Iowa), Dennis Bogaards (Iowa), Bob Henry (Kansas), James Fletcher (North Carolina), and Steve Wellman (Nebraska).

ASA also recognized retiring directors Dennis Friest (Iowa), Ron Heck (Iowa), Bill Wiley (Kansas), Ward Shaw (North Carolina), and Bart Ruth (Nebraska).

ASA is a national, not-for-profit, grassroots membership organization that develops and implements policies to increase the profitability of its members and the entire soybean industry.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.