Arizona ginner to lead NCGA in 2006

The National Cotton Ginners Association (NCGA) elected its officers for 2006 at its annual meeting. The officers include president, Russell Kuhnhenn, Buckeye, Ariz.; first vice president, Van Murphy, Quitman, Ga.; second vice president, Chris Breedlove, Olton, Texas; third vice president, Sledge Taylor, Como, Miss.; and chairman, Larry McClendon, Marianna, Ark.

In addition, Sid Brough, general manager of EdCot Co-Op Gin and San Patricio County Co-Op, is the 2005 Horace Hayden National Cotton Ginner of the Year recipient.

Brough, who was the NCGA's chairman in 2005, is recognized as an innovator that constantly strives to provide quality ginning for his customers.

Roger Isom, vice president and director of Technical Services for California Cotton Ginners and Growers Association, is the recipient of the 2005-06 NCGA Distinguished Service Award. This award recognizes individuals who have provided a career of distinguished service to the U.S. cotton ginning industry.

Isom was characterized as being a tireless worker on behalf of the U.S. cotton ginning industry with “bulldog” tenacity in addressing challenges to the U.S. cotton production and ginning industries.

Isom's work on air quality regulations in cotton ginning operations has saved the ginning industry millions of dollars. He also has been an active technical advisor on other issues beyond air quality, including ways to improve worker safety records and reduce unnecessary burdensome regulations.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.