At annual meeting

National Cotton Council delegates elected the following to serve as directors and state unit chairmen for 2001. The American Cotton Producers also elected its officers, all at the NCC's 62nd meeting in San Diego.

Elected to the Council Board during interest caucuses were:

Producers — Louie Perry, Jr., Moultrie, Ga.; Daniel T. Branton, Leland, Miss.; Mark D. Williams, Farwell, Texas; Charles K. Youngker, Buckeye, Ariz.; and Hollis O. Isbell, Muscle Shoals, Ala.

Ginners — Wendell S. Dunaway, Hawkinsville, Ga.; Murry G. McClintock, Tunica, Miss.; Sid Brough, Edroy, Texas; Charles C. Owen, Pima, Ariz.; and Richard Bransford, Lonoke, Ark.

Warehousemen — Carl W. Nelson, Jr., Selma, Ala.; Neill M. Sloan, Portland, Ark.; Ron Harkey, Lubbock, Texas; H. J. Weathersby, Memphis, Tenn.; and E. Bragg Smith, III, Dallas, Texas.

Merchants — William C. Covington, Richardson, Texas; W. B. Dunavant, III, Memphis, Tenn.; Peter Egli, Phoenix, Ariz.; Gerald C. Marshall, Cordova, Tenn.; and Joseph Walker, II, Columbia, S.C.

Crushers — Sammy Wright, Valdosta, Ga.; George H. Dunklin, Pine Bluff, Ark.; Hollis G. Sullivan, Harlingen, Texas; Ryoichi Kondo, Chandler, Ariz.; and Gail Kring, Lubbock, Texas.

Cooperatives — Mike Quinn, Raleigh, N.C.; Woods E. Eastland, Greenwood, Miss.; David Stanford, Lubbock, Texas; Robert W. Norris, Bakersfield, Calif.; and David L. Hand, El Paso, Texas.

Manufacturers — Roger W. Chastain, Greenville, S.C.; George R. Herron, Danville, Va.; G. Stephen Felker, Monroe, Ga.; Jerry D. Rowland, Winston-Salem, N.C.; and D. Harding Stowe, Belmont, N.C.

The American Cotton Producers, meanwhile, re-elected Isbell, a producer from Muscle Shoals, Ala., chairman for 2001.

Thad Freeland, Tillar, Ark., was elected a vice chairman. John H. Pucheu, Jr., Tranquillity, Calif., and Woody Anderson, Colorado City, Texas, were re-elected vice chairmen.

Elected state producer chairmen were: Laudies Brantley, England; Ark.; Steve Droke, Hornersville, Mo., (for Illinois and Missouri); Bob Mayberry, Lake Arthur, N.M.; and John Willis, Brownsville, Tenn., (for Kentucky and Tennessee).

Re-elected state producer chairmen were: Sam Spruell, Mt. Hope, Ala.; Larry W. Jarnigan, Phoenix; Ariz.; Don Cameron, Helm, Calif.; B. E. “Sonny” Davis, Cottondale, Fla.; C. B. “Chuck” Coley, Vienna, Ga.; Jay Hardwick, Newellton, La.; Bowen Flowers, Tunica, Miss.; David Grant, Garysburg, N.C.; Daniel M. Davis, Elk City, Okla.; Frank B. Rogers, III, Bennettsville, S.C.; Jim Ed Miller, Ft. Hancock, Texas; and Cecil R. Byrum, Windsor, Va.

Chairmen, vice-chairmen and secretaries of the state units named at the annual meeting were:

  • ALABAMA: J. Austin Wade, merchant, Montgomery; Sam R. Spruell, producer, Mt. Hope; V. Larkin Martin, producer, Courtland.

  • ARIZONA: Roger Hooper, producer, Casa Grande; Charles K. “Chuck” Youngker, producer, Buckeye; and Charles C. Owen, ginner, Pima.

  • ARKANSAS: Neill M. Sloan, warehouseman, Portland; Larry R. McClendon, ginner, Marianna; and Thad R. Freeland, producer, Tillar.

  • CALIFORNIA: David A. Alderete, ginner, Bakersfield; Robert W. Norris, cooperative, Bakersfield; and Tom Teixeira, producer, Dos Palos.

  • FLORIDA: B. E. “Sonny” Davis, producer, Cottondale; Leslie H. Cunningham, ginner, Atmore, AL; Bruce McMullian, ginner, Marianna.

  • GEORGIA: Van F. Murphy, ginner, Berlin; Kent Fountain, ginner, Surrency; Don E. Daily, ginner, Dexter.

  • LOUISIANA: Donna B. Winters, producer, Lake Providence; Jon W. Hardwick, producer, Newellton; Ted Schneider, producer, Lake Providence.

  • MISSISSIPPI: Murry G. McClintock, ginner, Tunica; John F. Phillips, III, producer, Yazoo City; and Scott Middleton, crusher, Jonestown.

  • MISSOURI: ILLINOIS: Allen Williams, ginner, Cardwell, M.; Steven C. Droke, producer, Hornersville, Mo.; and David Blakemore, ginner, Campbell, Mo.

  • NEW MEXICO: Johnny L. Reid, ginner, Loving; William C. Ahrens, ginner, Malaga; and Donald W. Hartman, producer, Deming.

  • NORTH CAROLINA: Joe Josey, III, producer, Scotland Neck; Burges U. Griffin, ginner, Lewiston; and J. Michael Quinn, cooperative, Raleigh.

  • OKLAHOMA: KANSAS: Malcolm Magar, warehouser, Altus; Daniel M. Davis, producer, Elk City; and Merle R. Atkins, producer, Davidson.

  • SOUTH CAROLINA: J. Whit Player, cooperative, Elliott; Robert E. Moore, Jr., producer, Hartsville; and F.B. Rogers, III, producer, Bennettsville.

  • TENNESSEE: KENTUCKY: John H. Willis, producer, Brownsville, Tenn.; Wayne Tritt, ginner, Brownsville, Tenn.; and John F. Lindamood, producer, Tiptonville, Tenn.

  • TEXAS: Randy Kennedy, ginner, Shallowater; Lee Tiller, ginner, Odem; and Sid Brough, ginner, Edroy.

  • VIRGINIA: M. L. Everette, Jr., producer, Capron; Leonard B. Alphin, ginner, Windsor; and Cecil Byrum, producer, Windsor.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.